Join Today
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    I am another noob here although I have been shooting for 35 years. I just bought a SPS-T in .308 that I will use to learn reloading for accuracy and also hunt with. I picked the SPS because of its out of the box accuracy and also the huge amount of aftermarket parts for me to upgrade, I love tinkering with my rifles! I will eventually replace the factory stock and trigger and possibly go to a Wyatts DM down the road. Most of my shooting will be at 300 yds or under.

Once my tax refund gets here I will be mounting a Millett TRS on this rifle, but in order to get out to the range asap I am going to toss on my old Nikon 3-9X40 that was on my previous deer rifle. I am looking at scope mounting options and noted that many people here are using the EGW setup which is pretty reasonably priced. I also found the Badger Ordnance 1 piece base which is $150! Is the Badger setup that much better then the EGW??

Thoughts and opinions please.

Ignatius
    Remember to doubt your doubts and believe your beliefs.

I am also looking at the EGW 1 piece mount for my new SPS. I will be following your post closely!!
    Mark
    MO??N ?ABE
    \"An armed society is a polite society.\" Robert A. Heinlein

there are many people using the EGW based on price I'd think. I'm sure I will be corrected if wrong, but i believe the EGW bases are contructed out off aluminum
    http://egw-guns.com/store/index.php?...roducts_id=248

opposed to the more expensive BO rail made from hardened steel which has an intergral recoil lug machined in it as well.(big plus)
    http://badgerordnance.com/base/