Magpul Hunter 700
Join Today
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By tarster

Thread: Magpul Hunter 700

Magpul Hunter 700

Hello fellow shooters. I treated myself to a Rem. 700 SPS Tac. in .223 for Christmas. I am looking at getting the Magpul Hunter 700. Any pro's or con's? This is going to be my "Critter Gitter" (woodchucks & yotes) and range gun out to +-300 yards. I am not in a position to throw my checkbook at it, but would like to build a relatively accurate gun on a budget.

Thanks in advance for any help and input.
    Tom

Almost ANY stock will be an improvement over the "Gumby" stock that Remington ships with the SPS tac's.

I have no experience with the Magpul but what I've looked at is impressive. I personally use the B&C Medalist "Tactical" A-5. Similar look and construction but it includes an accessory rail on the bottom of the forend. Makes for easy adjustments of sling attachment points and bipod position. Being able to move a bipod forward or back can help greatly in the balance of a firearm. All the way forward for LR shooting and back a ways for critters that may be running across your field of view and require some ability to swing the rifle easily.

The B&C is almost twice the price but has a lot of good, usable, features similar to the Magpul. I think the real differences will be in materials with the B&C being a solid composite "layup" and the Magpul being more of a molded product using parts/pieces from their AR line-up. The Magpul is 3# and the B&C is 5#. That extra 2# translates to a lot of "sturdy" and "recoil absorbing".

Thanks for the info DS2. $500 is a little over budget for me. I would assume all of the B&C stocks are of the same quality, so it would be personal preference as far as which model I would buy. I was looking on their site at one that is more in line with my budget, I think it was the M4 (B&C #1000). Thoughts on that one?

TIA,
    Tom

4. Remove Advertisements
    700Rifle.com
    Advertisements