What do I need to mount my scope?
Join Today
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By rkittine

Thread: What do I need to mount my scope?

Question What do I need to mount my scope?

I am going to sound like a total newbie, because I am. Just purchased my rifle and I am looking to ad a scope to it. Looking online and I can't tell which mount I need to go with....? The scope mount will screw directly to the top of the barrel, so which method is this called? Also, is it better to go with the pair of rings, or one piece? Thanks in advance.

Hi Rusty and welcome to the Forum.

I used to live in Franklin and though not that close, spend a good amount of time sucking down BBQ in Memphis.

A lot of what you do to mount a scope is personal preference. But lets start with the basics.
    What rifle are we talking about? (Important to know the action we are talking about)
    Is it a single shot or repeater?
    What Caliber (I ask this because of the size of the opening of the action for extraction?
    What type of shooting will you be doing?
    What yardages?
    What scope are you thinking about using? Power and Objective size will influence the ring size you need.

My benchrest rifles are all single shot and to be able to get off many shots quickly if the winds are changing, I do not like a rail across the action if it is top opening like a Remington 700. If it is a side port, than that is a different story.

A rail will help align your mount better if the screw holes in the receiver are slightly off. If they are way off (which some times does happen) get new ones drilled and tapped by a competent gunsmith if you don't want problems.

If you are going to shoot Long Range - 500 yards or more, than you should have a mount with some elevation already built into it like a 20 MOA rail. Scopes work best when the adjustments are somewhere in their mid point range, not cranked all the way to the most adjustment they can have.