Zoom wheel....
Join Today

Thread: Zoom wheel....

Zoom wheel....

The zoom wheel on my scope is VERY HARD to move...

More often than not I have to grab it full handed to make it turn...

Now my question is this....

I've seen guys use two fingers to turn them on other scopes. Do they 'loosen' as you use them? Or is there an adjustment? I never thought of myself as a weakling... Lol... But I'm thinking about coming up with a way to add a 'lever' to it so it's easier to use.

Or is this normal, and you shouldn't move it once your aiming...

Again, I'm new to shooting, still learning, it just seems like it should be a little easier.

Sent from my iPhone using Outdoor Forums

you looking for a cat tail

Rifle Scope Accessories | LaRue Tactical

universal cat tail or switchview for scope 2 for20

just do a search on google for "cat tail for rifle scope"
    "I'm all in favor of keeping dangerous weapons out of the hands of fools. Let's start with typewriters."
    - Frank Lloyd Wright (1868-1959)

OK..here we go...what type of scope are you running...? some pics would be nice.

4. Remove Advertisements
    700Rifle.com
    Advertisements

This could be a toughie. When a scope adjustment becomes difficult after it was working easier this can be a sign that the sealing o-rings have swelled up due to exposure to gun cleaning chemicals or just filled with dust to make a glue like mix out of the original lube used when assembled.

There really isn't an adjustment on most scopes. It often takes a trip to the manufacturer for repair.

On some scopes that's a bigger hassle than their worth. On others it's more than worth it and with the higher priced scopes it can often be a "free service".

It's all going to depend on the scope.

As for me, I rarely change magnification. Only use two settings as a rule. One for the calibrated ranging function and the rest of the time it's at MAX.