Accuracy issue?
Join Today
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Deadshot2
  • 1 Post By Deadshot2

Thread: Accuracy issue?

Accuracy issue?

I'm new to shooting. I have a stock 700 SPS-V in .308 with VX-3 scope.

Sighted in at 100-yds without issue. Groups of 3 shots in 1" diameter groups the location, as expected, would change depending on the round.
    Moved up to 200-yds using lake city ammo and was shooting 1" high in a 2" diameter circle. Made my adjustments and then I was shooting groups in a >6" diameter.
    I switched to Federal Gold 168 and the group tighten up to 2". I assumed it was the Lace City Ammo.
    The following weekend I went shooting 335-yds using lake city ammo and put the first three shots in a 2" diameter circle. I then switched to the Federal Gold and was shooting 24" diameter groups. I switched back to the lake city and was still all over the place. The scope isn't loose and the stock doesn't appear to be loose?

Does anyone have any ideas what my problem could be? Could air temp make that much of a difference going form 70 degrees in the shade to 105 degrees in the sun?

Thanks

My first guess would be that you have an issue with the stock. The first thing I would do (other than replacing it) is loosen both action screws, stand rifle up on recoil pad, give it a bounce on the floor (use a phone book or something similar as a pad), and retorque the action screws. Use a torque wrench and don't guess. When torqued then take a piece of paper, fold it once, and see if it will pass from the front of the stock back to the action, under the barrel. If not you have interference from the stock and it needs to be dealt with.

Rather than focus on ammo, focus on a stock that on it's best day still has more flex in it than it should. It was really designed for firing one or two shots on a hunting trip, not a day at the range target shooting. The warmer it gets the worse it will be. Hint: Notice how it got worse the more you shot?
    unclesarge58 likes this.