Newbie Remington 700 ADL 308
Join Today
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Buddy of mine and I decided to get bolt action rifles about two weeks ago so I was a bit intrigued. Having just bought a CZ75B Omega for my CC I decided to get a bolt rifle I could customize. My buddy is going with the Mosin-Nagant in 7.62x54 and plans to model it into a Dragunov clone. So here I am, went in to my local gun shop and found my rifle of choice, a brand new Remington 700 ADL in 308 with a scope package (heh package...). I've browsed the forums a bit the past couple weeks and have decided the first thing ill do is the KRG bolt addon as I could tell that small bolt lever would be a pain. Would like to turn it into a tactical rifle platform (rail systems, pistol grip, extended mag, ect) and a muzzle break.

I will admit I have 0 experience in working on guns but can typically learn quickly.

From a horrible experience.....ditch the scope package and save up for a decent scope. I was a newb to bolt actions and fell for that, thinking i was saving money on a scope. It will only add to a doctor bill.

Quote Originally Posted by jp12
    From a horrible experience.....ditch the scope package and save up for a decent scope. I was a newb to bolt actions and fell for that, thinking i was saving money on a scope. It will only add to a doctor bill.
    Oh ya lol wasn't planning on keeping the same scope on it, especially after toying around with the telescopic ones they had around the store. Not that I'd ever use it but the ability to go from 4x to 20x makes me a bit giddy. Lol

4. Remove Advertisements
    700Rifle.com
    Advertisements

welcome

sounds like you've got a nice gun coming in. my first bolt action that I bought was a remingon 700 .30-06 ADL. you'll definitely be able to out shoot your buddies mosin. only thing that will throw you off is the sporter barrel. they heat up within 3-4 shots and accuracy will go bye-bye.