Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys....I am new to long range shooting and new to this site so bare with me on the questions. I have been researching a bit on what rifle / scope to buy and have settled on a 700 versus a Savage. Rifle will be for bench rest shooting at paper or steel. My local range is limited to 600 yds but I hope to find a place I can shoot out to 1000 yds. I have a NightForce 5.5-22 x 56 HS ZS ordered (arrives next week :D ) to install on this rifle.

My first choice for a 700 is a Milspec 5R followed by a 700P in 308. Unsure about barrel length but I am leaning toward a 24" rather than a 20". Any advice here would be appreciated.

Whichever rifle I end up with, I intend to purchase a Bell & Carlson Medalist Varmint/Tactical stock to migrate the 700 to because of the adjustability and pistol grip. I believe both of these rifles should be compatible with the B&C stock but wanted to ask if any one here has mated a 700 Milspec or 700P to this particular stock?

Future mods include replacing the trigger, adding a DBM, Cerakoting, blue-printing and trueing, plus adding a suppressor so I will be asking about these as well.

Thanks fellas!

GTGunner
(USAF Retired)

·
Premium Member
1,389 Posts
Fasteach (5r 24") and I (aac-sd 20") went to the range a while back with his chrono and tested some loads

Fgmm 175 (factory)

20". 24"

2599. 2645
2614. 2629
2594. 2656
2604. 2666
2583. 2635

The 20" rifle had a muzzle break on it.
On another day we went shooting and when the break was removed the poi raised 2 moa at 600 yards.

·
Registered
526 Posts
It won't make a bit of difference on what barrel length you get. When you get ready to order your stock, just make sure you order a short action stock.

If it was me, I'd go to the next gun show and pick up the cheapest short action 700 I could find. Have the barrel i want fitted and the action trued and put on the stock I want.