Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi,
i'm new to the world of the 700, i've always wanted tactical rifle and this SPS Tactical got me hooked.
i've been trying to research as much info on this rifle and this site have provided me with a lot.
i got the 700 in .308 a couple of days ago and can't wait to get it out to the range.
the information i gathered from here i ordered the EGW 20moa and Harris bipod (6"-9"),
i have an Nikon Buckmaster scope that i will use until i can upgrade the optics.
anyway, i digress my question is there a proper break-in procedure for this rifle or do i just
go out and shoot til my hearts content.

thanks,
thomas...

P.S. I don't hunt so this rifle will be just for target and zombies :D shooting

·
Premium Member
1,389 Posts
6camaro9, congrats and welcome.

some people swear you have to break it in, some people swear against it. its kinda like what caliber in pistol is better. 9 or 40 or 45. the debate can last a lifetime! :):cough cough 40s&w cough:: lol)

alot of people have gone through great lengths on this site cleaning after every shot, cleaning after each firing string, and so on so forth. then there a few, a very few like me that cleaned it out of the box, went and shot the rifle with out thinking about breaking it in.

i shot 1 shot every 5-10 minutes to see what its "cold bore groupings" where like. then after about 30 rounds i cleaned it when i got home with the snake and called it a day.

btw, hunting zombies without a permit is crime punishable by me taking your rifle away :D

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks jason,

i've heard both stories on cleaning so that is why i asked. i like your process cause i don't think i have the patience to do the other especially at a range. if i was out on some land that i could take my time i might try the other but my A.D.D will get in the way.