Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

After reading about all of the benefits of reloading, I'm in the process of trying to decide which kits or individual components would best suit my needs. I know there are a lot of decent manufacturers out there, but based on what I've researched, it seems that Forster, Redding, and RCBS get the best reviews.
I'm looking for precision over quantity, and will be loading rifle calibers from .223 to 7mm STW.

Should I look at a complete kit, or get the best components from a variety of brands?

Thanks for any info to get me started.

·
Registered
49 Posts
I've been using RCBS equipment for over 30 years and it has not let me down yet.I have had all the other brands through the years but RCBS still is #1 with me!I load from .22 to 50BMG.All the problems i have encountered with RCBS was actually caused by ME!The excellent technical support at RCBS has been a tremendous help through the years.Hope this helps.

·
Registered
526 Posts
I also use mostly RCBS that I bought back in the 1960's. I'm slowly switching over to Redding S type dies in my long range guns. They can help control neck tension better than the RCBS dies.

None of the kits will have everything you need, but they are a pretty good start. I find a lot of stuff at gun shows and garage sales.

·
Registered
89 Posts
My brother just got a RCBS kit from Cabelas that includes the Rockchucker press. It has the major stuff but you will still have to get some smaller items

·
Registered
190 Posts
RBoomK said:
Hi Guys,

After reading about all of the benefits of reloading, I'm in the process of trying to decide which kits or individual components would best suit my needs. I know there are a lot of decent manufacturers out there, but based on what I've researched, it seems that Forster, Redding, and RCBS get the best reviews.