Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am a newbie in shooting a bolt-action rifle.

As mentioned in the topic, it's quite hard for me to push an ammo from the magazine into the chamber as you may see it in the youtube video posted on the link above.

It' quite a long video and so tiring to wait until I put each round. You may fast skip to: 0.40; 1.45; 2.15 and 2.55 respectively.

In the video I use CBC ammo. But even with Remington ammo, it is the same kind of trouble.

Any suggestion ? Thank you in advance.

·
Super Moderator
470 Posts
A couple of things come to mind.

First when loading the magazine are the rounds as far back towards the bolt as they will go?
I assume this is a model with the hinged floor plate. Is the follower installed correctly. Taper towards the front?
Does the follower move freely in the magazine?
Has the action been out of the stock?

·
Registered
134 Posts
If its NOT what Doom posted use the bolt release lever in front of the trigger, pull the bolt out check the bolt lugs and under the bolt for any marks as it seems the bolt is catching either on trigger fire control or the bolt release lever. Let us know what you find?

PS You chose a nice "rig" and set it up nicely, so how did it shoot ? Looks like a 1-10 or 1-11.25 twist .308 ?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
A couple of things come to mind.

First when loading the magazine are the rounds as far back towards the bolt as they will go?
I assume this is a model with the hinged floor plate. Is the follower installed correctly. Taper towards the front?
Does the follower move freely in the magazine?
Has the action been out of the stock?
Thank you Doom,
I checked all in the list you suggested. I am rather sure that some component in the magazine system has some flaw or defect.