Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am another noob here although I have been shooting for 35 years. I just bought a SPS-T in .308 that I will use to learn reloading for accuracy and also hunt with. I picked the SPS because of its out of the box accuracy and also the huge amount of aftermarket parts for me to upgrade, I love tinkering with my rifles! I will eventually replace the factory stock and trigger and possibly go to a Wyatts DM down the road. Most of my shooting will be at 300 yds or under.

Once my tax refund gets here I will be mounting a Millett TRS on this rifle, but in order to get out to the range asap I am going to toss on my old Nikon 3-9X40 that was on my previous deer rifle. I am looking at scope mounting options and noted that many people here are using the EGW setup which is pretty reasonably priced. I also found the Badger Ordnance 1 piece base which is $150! Is the Badger setup that much better then the EGW??

Thoughts and opinions please.

Ignatius

·
Registered
28 Posts
I am also looking at the EGW 1 piece mount for my new SPS. I will be following your post closely!!

·
Registered
80 Posts
there are many people using the EGW based on price I'd think. I'm sure I will be corrected if wrong, but i believe the EGW bases are contructed out off aluminum
http://egw-guns.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=39_128&products_id=248

opposed to the more expensive BO rail made from hardened steel which has an intergral recoil lug machined in it as well.(big plus)
http://badgerordnance.com/base/

I personally went with a somewhat "local" company for me here in Canada which offers their rails cnc milled from stainless steel. I went for strength of the rail vs price, paying $200 CDN for it was some $ yes, but piece of mind in a sound product is worth the $ you spend. you'll learn on this site and amoung others the frendly saying "buy once, cry once!" Something to think about.