Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this is technically my first real stab at trying to be accurate (i shot before with a very cheap setup that made me unhappy with the inaccuracy)

heres the rig:
Remington 700 SPS tactical
Bushnell 3200 Elite Tactical 10x40
Burris XTR low rings
weaver extended base
KRG bolt handle kit
UTG bipod (eventually wanna replace this with a higher end one)
factory hogue overmold stock

middle: shots for zeroing in at 100 yards
bottom right: first group (federal gold match)
bottom left: second group (federal gold match)
top left: third group (federal gold match)
top right: fourth group (federal power shok) [i ran out of match ammo so i rushed this group]

they were all 5 shot groups on the bipod with a sock bag at the rear

from just looking at these shots, is there any suggestions on improvement? something im already aware of is i am new to firing higher powered rifles and i did catch myself flinching slightly to prepare for the recoil. i got over this quick, and also i emphasized that i followed through on the trigger pull as best as i can.

just curious also, on the top right target, when i say i rushed, i loaded up 4+1 and shot each round as fast as i could operate the bolt, get a good sight and fire...is it normal that my shots ended up high right? my mistake was i ran out of match ammo and switched over to cheaper ammo, and also decided to change shooting speed, so too many variables were changed.

thanks

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
that makes sense...sorry for the noobness that was pretty much common sense haha, i thought my zero was getting away from me for a sec.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Hi jonjonkills,