Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok Im new to this and I own a SPS tactical. The hogue overmolded stock touches the barrel slightly when the fore end is resting on the bipod. If I decide to pull the stock off and do a little bit of shaving will there be anything special I need to do to it after the adjustment?

·
Registered
403 Posts
legibson said:
Ok Im new to this and I own a SPS tactical. The hogue overmolded stock touches the barrel slightly when the fore end is resting on the bipod. If I decide to pull the stock off and do a little bit of shaving will there be anything special I need to do to it after the adjustment?
Unfortunatly there is little you can do to this stock to help it other then investing in a better after market stock like HS Precision, Bell & Carlson or Mcmillin. You can try and shave the forearm, but you may only make matters worse. I have heard others talk about metal rods and epoxy to try to stiffen the forearm and again its how far do you want to invest your time, effort and resources to try and fix a problem from the start. Best thing you can do is like I and many other have done and sell the Hogue stock to someone who will buy it and invest that money into another stock. Personally I have an HS Precision and it serves me well and one of the best investments I made, but again it's all a matter of preference. Check this boards classifieds because some come on form time to time for sale. Be prepaired to spend at least $200 for a good stock. Here is a good place to get an idea of the stocks available and the prices. heres the link to Stocky's stocks.....

http://www.stockysstocks.com/servlet/StoreFront

Good luck in your stock and I hope this helps better inform you on the questions you have posed.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·