Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy folks. I just found this site. I am 57 years young, have been an avid hunter and shooter ever since I was old enough to do so, and have been an avid handloader since about 1978. I am a Police Officer in a small rural town. I also serve on the Board of Directors on a local Shooters Club that has an Indoor Shooting Range for .22 LR Rimfire Rifles & Handguns.

I have had a few Remington's over the years, some I wish I still had. Recently I picked up a Remington Model 700 SPS in .308 Winchester. The first thing I did was to have the 24" Barrel shortened and recrowned to 20". I then sanded out the forend free floating the the barrel from the end of the chamber forward. I'll more than likely have the bottom of the barrel channel filled in with Accuglass, as well as having the Action Bedded in the not to distant future.

So far I have 70 rounds through this new 700, shooting strictly 150gr. Winchester Super X Power Point Factory Ammo. So far I have not been impressed, but didn't expect much from this ammo. I am going to be starting to handload for this 700 .308 in the not to distant future, and will probably concentrate on 150gr. Nosler Ballistic Tips.

I am thoroughly impressed with this X Mark Pro Trigger. The only adjusting I have done it to back out the external trigger pull weight adjustment screw. It is super crisp & smooth at 3 pounds. However after backing this screw out when I fire the gun the screw rubs on my trigger finger. It hasn't caused a problem, it is just that it is annoying.

Interesting site here.

Thanks for reading.

Larry

·
Registered
98 Posts
Hi Larry and Welcome all the way from Oz. Interesting, what you have done with your rifle. Everyone has different ideas. My LOP has been shortened to suit my reach. Won't hurt to bed your action. Will the barrel be in full contact after filling-in with Accuglass?
Happy trails.

·
Registered
190 Posts