Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a lot of experience loading handgun ammo, but I am very new to loading rifle (only have a little time doing 6.5 Swed at this point).

Since I am building my 700 to be as accurate as possible (of course) I am wanting to get a proper measurement for the OAL on my rifle chamber before I start reloading.

First: Is the Hornady Lock-N-Load OAL gauge is effective? http://www.hornady.com/store/Lock-N-Load-OAL-Gauge-Straight-1Each/

Second: If not, what do you use (if anything)?

Third: What is the typical round-count between measurements?

·
Premium Member
1,389 Posts
I have a buddy of mine that swears by it. Me personally, I just experimented till I found an oal that gave me the best accuracy. If your going to do the test and shoot method make sure you make small adjustments.

·
Registered
526 Posts
I bought one some years ago and thought it would be neat. Problem is they use a weird thread so you have to buy the dummy cartridges from them. I ended up making my own from an old RCBS primer tube and drilling and tapping my own cases for 1/4-20 thread.

After all that work and expense, I found that I can do just as well by seating a bullet coated with Prussian blue on an empty case and putting that in the chamber to get depth to the lands.

·
Registered
526 Posts
The round count between measurements will vary depending on the cartridge you use. My 6BR hasn't shown any change in just over 500 rounds but my .243 AI has grown almost .005 in the same period. Of course, any change in bullet should be remeasured,

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
jerrschmitt said:
After all that work and expense, I found that I can do just as well by seating a bullet coated with Prussian blue on an empty case and putting that in the chamber to get depth to the lands.