Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a R700 SPS Tactical .223 w/ 20" barrel. Right now it is all stock. I found a good deal on a new HS Precision stock model #PST012. The description on the HS Precision website wasn't real clear on whether it would work for my rifle. But I did find several examples of it being used on the .308 version of my rifle. So I went ahead and committed to buying it.

Now, after doing some more reading this morning I find that the model PST086 might be the prefered stock for my rifle. Am I going to have any problems with the PST012?

I'm new to bolt action rifles and especially modifying them. Sorry if this is a stupid question! All input will be appreciated

·
Registered
2,799 Posts
Installing wise you are good to go if you got a short action BDL stock. Now comfort it's all personall preference. I got a 86 and would rather have a 12.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Winxp_Man said:
I got a 86 and would rather have a 12.
Why?

BTW, thanks for the reply!!
Mark

·
Registered
2,799 Posts
The 12 has a palm swell. Where as the 86 I dont think it has a palm swell if I'm remembering right.

And sorry when I searched the model numbers I accidently put in the PSV thats why I thought it was mine.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Winxp_Man said:
And sorry when I searched the model numbers I accidently put in the PSV thats why I thought it was mine.
Forgive me, but I am a little confused by what you meant with this statement.

·
Registered
2,799 Posts
When I looked up your models you posted I accidently put in PSV069 instead of PST0.... The PSV is the Varmint series of the HS stocks. Sorry about the confusion.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Winxp_Man said:
Sorry about the confusion.
No problem. I really appreciate your input!