Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking at the 700 AAC. in 308. I am new to this platform and would like some advice. I would like some advice on stocks and triggers. what are other parts that are regularly modified on this weapon?

·
Registered
173 Posts
Like scopes, stocks\triggers\mods depend on your budget.

I, like a lot of people here, have a Bell and Carlson (B&C) stock on my 700. They run between $200-300. You can also go with a nice wooden stock, a McMillan ($400-600), an AICS ($900+)..the options are endless, it all depends on your taste.

Check out www.stockysstocks.com

As for triggers, there's also a plethora of them available. I personally have a Timney 510 on mine (as do quite a few others..notice the pattern?) and it's a wonderfully crisp and clean trigger. Another common one is a Jewell, or you could have the stock one polished/set-up.

Another common modification, but one that is not needed, is truing the action, which depending on the gunsmith can run you $50-150. Don't quote me on that price, as some could be lower..some could be higher.

Again, all of this depends on your budget, and your experience. If you're new to bolt actions\long range shooting, you're going to be better off just getting a good scope and shooting the crap out of the stock rifle. That'll teach you more than any series of modifications and money could ever help.

What do you plan on doing with the rifle? Punching paper? Hunting? Competitions? What's your budget for the scope?

·
Premium Member
1,389 Posts
+1 to the b&c stocks, and Jewell or timney trigger.

If you get a stock like the b&c or other non chassis type make sure to have it glass bedded if will truly merge accuracy with precision.

Once I bedded my b&c stock, my groups tightened like no tomorrow and any day of the week my cold clean bore shot will never be more than 1/2 (max) inch away from follow up shots.