Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,
I just recently ordered my very first bolt action, a 700 SPS TAC in .308, cant wait!. After looking at some of the posts in the last couple of days, i think i have a starting point for my build:
Being this my first bolt action rifle, i wanted to start with a "basic" scope like a Redfield 3-9x 40 mm 1" tube, 4plex reticle
EGW picatinny base (not sure how to properly select the correct MOA, i'm a proud noob :p )
Leupold QRW rings, matte (should i go with low or Medium height for this scope?)
Tactical component Mag xtender (ive seen some so-so reviews in other places)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, i'm really excited about my SPS :D , planning on a lot of target shooting and hopefully some hunting as well.

·
Registered
477 Posts
welcome

i wanna get the same rifle for my next bolt action project (down the road a ways)

with a 40mm objective, i would think you could get away with low rings. but it depends on the base you use. i have a 44mm objective with a 20 MOA base and i use burris low rings.

i have the mag extender as well, i really like it. it takes some fine tuning to get it to fit and work right. but you cant beat the extra capacity you get for the price

throw up some pics when you get it!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I decided to go with the the EGW HD 20 MOA base. It should arrive next week, a day or two from when i can pick up my rifle (CA has a 10 day waiting period).

for the scope, i'm thinking of revising my original plan and get the Redfield 4-12x 40mm, 1" instead, anybody familiar with this one?.... i know its not the best scope out there but i figure I'll start from the bottom and work myself up to some of the better ones people use here.

My local gun shop has both (low and med) QRW rings in stock, so i can try both of them.