Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all!

I am a new member to the Remington 700 forum and I would liketo introduce myself. I am a long time resident of New Mexico, a lifelong hunter, outdoorsman, and gun enthusiast. I am a long time member of the Rimfirecentral forum and I especially like .22 rifles but I also like centerfire rifles. I have been a Winchester model 70 fan for a long time but I just bought my first model 700 and I'd like to find out some things about it. I recently purchased a 1976 Remington 700 BDL heavy barrel varmint rifle in .223 Rem. I bought this rifle for general varmint hunting and paper punching. I am curious if any of you have experience with this particular model (Varmint) and caliber. I understand that the barrel twist rate is 1:12". I'd like to know what bullet weight is appropriate and optimal for this ROT in the 150-200 yard range. I would also like to know any other information that you folks care to share about this model and caliber rifle.

I suppose I was incorrect whern I said that this is my first model 700. I own three Remington 40X rimfire rifles that I use frequently for silhouette and ARA competition at my local gun club.

Thanks very much in advance for your information and assistance, I'm glad to join this forum!

Kix

·
Premium Member
1,389 Posts
Kix, welcome to the forum! Always great to have another shooter to talk with!
I don't have any experience with your rifle, but I do recall some members that have either
A similar setup or possibly the same. I'm sure they will chime in once they get online!
If you have any other general questions id be glad to try and help you out.

Be warned though, we like seeing pics of new people's toys so. ::hint hint::: :)

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Jasonbourne,