Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
409 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking for advice on a new optic for my normal patrol rifle. It's a Smith and Wesson M&P 15 T, with the extended quad rail, free floating barrel, and Troy BUIS sights both front and rear. I've had it decked out with all the Magpul stuff and have been running a Trijicon Tripower (good sight, but I want some magnification for more precision shots. I'm looking at either a Trijicon ACOG (either the TA33R-8 in 3X or the 4X TA31CH), or the Leupold Mark 4 1.5-5, and I'm considering the Nightforce compact 1-4. I want something that I can do decent CQB stuff with, but I want great accuracy - MOA at 100 - with a 16 inch barrel. Any advice from anyone who has experience with using these sights on an AR platform would be appreciated.

·
Registered
42 Posts
I can not comment on the sights you are referring to, but can tell you what I use.

I have a 16" Bushmaster M4 Optics Ready Carbine. It is my personal AR but I carry it in my Patrol Vehicle every single day. In addition I have to qualify with it once a year.

Since it is my personal gun I also use it for Hunting Coyotes and other varmints of opportunity. As such I too wanted some magnification.

I choose a Bushnell Elite 3200 1.5x4.5x32mm Firefly Riflescope. The field of view on 1.5X is quite good and I have not experienced any problems even when qualifying at 5 yards. Still on 4.5x it is 3/4 MOA AR with the ammo I use. Also on 4.5x I have taken quite a few Coyotes with the longest shots being about 250 yards.

By simply shining my flashlight into the eyepiece of the Bushnell Firefly the outter two sections of the crosshairs glo a nice soft green. Shining the flashlight into the eyepiece for a minute will result in the crosshairs being illuminated for over 30 minutes.