Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
409 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, haven't been over here in quite a while. Busy with work, baby, etc. I just completed my second to last day of one week long LEO Sniper School in Kansas with KLETC - the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center. The lead instructor is an ex LT with 11 years SWAT/Sniper experience from Wichita (city of probably a little under 500,000) where I was an officer for about 6 1/2 years. I'm now with a smaller, accompanying town with better politics, and was given the opportunity to attend this program to be certified as my department's designated sniper. I shoot a stock SPS in .308, with weaver mounts, Burris XTR medium rings, Falcon Menace 4X14X44 FFP scope, Harris bipod and Tac Ops cheek pad/ammo pouch. My first day - after a full day of interesting classroom stuff, the 24 men in the course break out their guns and about 21 of them all have 700 PSS, or 700 P's, with the full 24 or 26 inch barrel, HS Precision stocks and most of them also had Leupold Mark 4's. In truth, I felt a little under gunned, and this was a first for me. However, after two full days of shooting at 100-600 yards (and everything in between in varying winds), I can report that a stock SPS is about in the same grade as a 700 p or 700 pss, and a Falcon Menace is about as good as a scope as the tactical Leupolds, which are double the price of the Falcons. We all had to shoot match grade, 168 gr, BTHP's. With one more day of shooting, I would say I'm probably middle of the pack or maybe a little bit on the high (good) side of our stats. No glaring errors. Have been best shooter on some of our relays. However, the drop with a 20 inch barrel will differ a little bit (and grow bigger the further out you go) but you won't really lose any accuracy. It's all about modifiying your charts, math and trusting your spotter. Tomorrow, we're bringing it back to 100 yards and doing "moving target" drills and a b