Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am by no means a newbie to firearms! However, I am new to Bolt Action rifles, and particulary rifles that can be modified for improved target shooting characteristics. I have actually learned a fair amount from searching this great forum. I have a R700 SPS Tactical .223 rifle with an HS Precision stock, Redfield 3-9X40 scope, and Harris bipod. I don't have any plans on winning any future national marksmanship championships, but I do want to have a nice target shooting weapon.

My rifle came with the standard (non X-Mark) trigger assembly. I am looking for some feedback on the following:

• What triggers are available[/*]
  • Cost (range)[/*]
  • Advantages/Disadvantages[/*]
  • Personal Experiences[/*]

Is there any advantage to just keeping my current trigger assembly? How does my trigger compare to the newer Remington X-Mark adjustable trigger?

Thanks in advance for your input!!

·
Premium Member
1,389 Posts
The older trigger is adjustable by a smith to make it a nice clean light crisp break.
My sps tac aac came with the 2nd generation xmark pro. It is a nice trigger and I was okay with it being a 2.5lb pull, that is untill I shot a buddies Jewell trigger.

I've shot several weapons in my lifetime but I have never shot something with such a fine trigger in my life. With it set at one pound it is amazingly smooth. You think it fires. I it mine for 260 installed but I've heared slot of people getting it a little cheaper. Alot of people like timney triggers as well and they are a little cheaper. There are also shilen triggers.

IMO a
Shilen trigger is like mustang
Timney is like a corvette
Jewell is like a viper, do you really need it? No
But once you got it you realize what you've missed lol

·
Registered
2,799 Posts