Remington 700 Rifle Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just curious as to this... Notice everyone talking about lapua, federal and winchester brass and not so much as reloading with Remington. Is there any particular reason to this? I am looking into getting into reloading to make my beast the most accurate rifle I can make it. Gonna start off with the baseline of.....

175gr SMK bullets
Varget powder ranging from 42-45gr in .5 increments
CCI BR2 Primers
???? Brass

and lastly the reason for posting. I see a lot of people using the above formula with the addition of Winchester brass with great results. I have 40 rounds of remington match ammo brass at home here and was contemplating using that, but theres no real mention of people reloading too much with remington. Should a person try the rem brass, or go right for the winny?

Thanks in advance for comments. Sorry for the possible noob question, but I am a reloading noob.

·
Registered
11 Posts
hi.308remy, i use the win chrome plated cases from the win ballistic silvertip 168 gr. that i used as running in rds. they load and extract better than any brass cases and dont scratch up at all. my rem 700 adl is in 308w. my best load is adi 2208 which is about the same as varget . the load is 44.5 gr with nosler 150 gr ballistic tips. cci br2 primers. ocl is 2.805 any longer and they dont fit in the mag well,they rock up and down. and hard to load and extract. group size is 5/8" at 100yds. first 2 clover leaf. when i was getting to that load i went up in powder like. 44.00, 44.02, 44.04, 44.50, 44.06, 44.08. till i got the best groups. hope this helps.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·